MIIT - Moscow State University of Railway Engineering

Brief description of the legal entity
The University comprises seven Institutes: (The Institute of Rail Track, Construction and Structures; the Institute of Control Systems, Telecommunication and Electrification; the Institute of Transport Engineering and Operations Management ; the Institute of Rail Operation and Information Technologies; Economics and Finance Institute; the Institute of Humanities; Law Institute ), the Russian Academy of Transport, Medical College and Gymnasium. The University also includes: Coordination and Analytical Centre for Training Scientific and Academic Staff and Transport Specialists, International Academic Mobility Centre, Regional Centre for Testing School-leavers, Linguistic Centre and the Centre for Supplementary Training in Transport Designing. The University trains students in 52 study programs. At the beginning of the 1990s MIIT offered its students a wide range of study opportunities of different levels of education: bachelor of science , specialist, master of science. Nowadays there are 17 'bachelor' programs and 13 'master' programs of different directions. The University is known for high academic standards and high quality tuition. It trains qualified specialists for 10 fields of science and 61 scientific specialities. There are currently more than 400 students taking post-graduate courses and those working for their doctor's degree. MIIT has 12 Doctorate Scientific Councils. Scientific research work is carried out along the lines closely connected with modernization of transport complexes operation; introduction of new technologies, forms and methods of transportation processes operation; solving economic and ecological problems of railway transport; providing rail traffic safety; IT on transport ; the development of railway infrastructure (track and track facilities, rolling stock, automation and telecommunication, railway power supply ) along with the branch reforming and interaction of various transport modes. 62% of the faculty members are candidates or doctors of science.

For more information